Job is a Masterful Work

I have probably read Job a few times in my life. But, I seem to be seeing it with new eyes as it dominates the readings in Morning Prayer this week. Job is a masterful work. I can’t help feeling–am I off target?–that I am seeing the theological foundation for the incarnation being laid. Job says of God: “For he is not a man, as I am, that I might answer him, that we should come to trial together. There is no umpire between us who might lay his hand upon us both.” You can almost imagine God thinking, “you are full of it Job” while a cartoon thought cloud appears above his head saying “hmmm, does he have a point here?”

Job says, “Do you have eyes of flesh? Do you see as humans see? Are your days like the days of mortals, or your years like human hears that you seek out my iniquity and search for my sin…?”

In essence, Job seems to be saying, “God, what do you know about being a man?” And in later chapters, God says back, “Job, what do you know about being God?” For a God who relentlessly seeks to be in relationship with man, is this not the root of the need for incarnation?

In the end, God seems to be pleased with Job’s questions, perhaps even to have learned something from him? What are the implications of the concept of a learning God?

Leave a Reply

