Joe Posnanski on the Anniversary of Wilt’s 100-Point Game

I’m not sure what to make of this milestone. Should anyone ever score 100 points in a basketball game, even it they can?

But, this is a fascinating blog entry about Wilt Chamberlain, the 100 point game, and much more. It’s well worth the read.

I forgot Wilt played for Kansas, and for the Harlem Globetrotters.

I forgot what an awful free throw shooter he was. For a guy who was a driven as Wilt Chamberlain to have this consistent flaw in his game is surprising and I think I have a bit more sympathy for Shaq and his free-throw-challenged career as a result.

I’m a big fan of Bill Russell, and if I was picking teams I think I would pick Russell over Chamberlain. But, remember: Chamberlain once got 55 rebounds in a game.  Although hat’s a superhuman effort in itself, when you add the fact that it came in a game played against Bill Russell and the Boston Celtics–it’s almost beyond belief.

Be sure to read the comments, too. Great basketball stuff.

Joe Posnanski: Anniversary of Wilt’s 100-Point Game.

Leave a Reply

